Ritter White Chocolate with Whole Hazelnuts

My confession? I enjoy — maybe even love — white chocolate. Well, it’s not much of a confession — I’m not ashamed! It just seems that many people have a distaste for the stuff. That’s fine; everyone has their personal tastes. However, I wonder if more people would like white chocolate if they tried good (or heck, even real) white chocolate. I liken it to dark chocolate. A lot of people try Hershey’s Special Dark and avoid dark chocolate thereafter. But a nice Endangered Species bar or even a piece of Dove might turn them over to the dark side.

White chocolate is similar, but a good white chocolate is even more elusive than a good dark. The white confection that Hershey’s puts out doesn’t even qualify as white chocolate. A bit of the cocoa butter is replaced by other fats, such as tropical or hydrogenated oils. I’m not going to pretend that I don’t guiltily indulge in these things sometimes, but it really ruins the texture and flavor profile of the white chocolate.

I’ve looked around, but a good, readily-available white chocolate bar is hard to come by. I’ve tried and loved Green and Black’s, but the store no longer stocks that variety. Curses.

Enter the Ritter White Chocolate with Whole Hazelnuts. It delivers real white chocolate, bits of crisped rice, and a nice chunk of hazelnut in every bite. I love the texture of this bar. The chocolate is creamy, the hazelnuts are crunchy, and the rice bits are crispy. The rice brings a hint of malt to the party, but the major flavors are the chocolate and hazelnuts, which balance each other nicely. The hazelnuts never let the chocolate become too cloying.

This may not be the epitome of white chocolate, but I love the combination with the hazelnuts, it’s inexpensive, and it’s easy for me to come by. Ritter and I are forming a nice relationship, and this could become my go-to white chocolate bar.

Show some white chocolate a little love. If he still doesn’t capture you’re heart, he’ll understand. He just wants a chance!

Nutrition Breakdown: Serving size is 6 squares. There are 210 calories, 14g of fat (7g saturated), 17g of sugar, and 3g of protein per serving.

Rating: 9/10

Name: White Chocolate with Whole Hazelnuts
Brand: Ritter
Store: World Market
Price: $1.99
Weight: 3.5 oz.

8 Responses to Ritter White Chocolate with Whole Hazelnuts

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    I LOVE hazelnuts – wonderful addition to chocolates, for sure!

  2. Amanda says:

    You are an evil, evil person. I can’t resist white chocolate and now I’m fighting the urge to go find one of these immediately. It looks and sounds amazing!

  3. Katie says:

    I love white chocolate too and I don’t care who knows it! :)

  4. Alicia says:

    Woo! White chocolate lovers unite!

  5. Sera says:

    I LOVE white chocolate too! I recoomed trying Droste’s white choc and Ghirardelli’s white choc…and if you don’t mind spending the money, Amedei’s version is stellar too!

  6. Alicia says:

    Sera – Thanks for the suggestions! I haven’t tried Droste or Ghirardelli white chocolate. I was actually looking at Ghirardelli stuff the other day and noticed that they didn’t have a white bar out. I’m going to have to look harder!

    I have had Amedei, and it is pretty stellar! I loved their white chocolate with pistachios. Unfortunately, it’s not really something that I can afford to treat myself to.. ^^;

  7. per says:

    white chocolate- meh eh.

    white chocolate+nuts (but esp. hazelnuts)? mais oui!

  8. whitechoco says:

    omg!!!!!!!!!!!!! every 5 days i go to the market and buy one of this i looooooooove it and i love hazelnuts and white chocolate and mixing them together is such a great & a fantastic idea lol……….

Leave a Reply

