Robin’s Egg Cookies

So, after the initial disaster, I fixed the remainder of the dough and the cookies turned out fine. To double check, I made another batch the next day for my grandmother, and she had no complaints.

These cookies were inspired by April’s Master Baker challenge. The theme ingredient is Easter candy, which couldn’t be more fitting for me. It didn’t take long to decide which candy I wanted to use. I love malted milk balls, and Robin’s Eggs were my favorite Easter treat when I was a kid. I’ve been meaning to experiment with malted milk cookies, and this was a perfect chance.

The cookies are pretty and colorful, and they tasted pretty darn good. The recipe is based off the standard Tollhouse recipe. Next time, I think I’ll add some malted milk powder in with the dry ingredients — there can never be too much malt with me.

Robin’s Egg Cookies

Oven Temp.: 375°
Approx. Bake Time: 11-14 minutes
Yields: about 20 cookies

Ingredients
3/4 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
5 tbsp. butter
1/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. + 1 tbsp. brown sugar
1 egg
1/3 c. chocolate chips
1 c. Robin’s Eggs, chopped

Instructions
– Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together. In a separate bowl, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg.. Stir in the dry ingredients, chips, and malt balls.
– Scoop tablespoons of dough onto an prepared baking sheet. Bake in a preheated oven. After baking, let stand on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then move to wire racks to cool completely.

2 Responses to Robin’s Egg Cookies

  1. jane says:

    I was so happy to find these cookies. We had such an overload of these this year, and I am excited for how they turned out- thanks!

  2. amybtwink says:

    Made these tonight…so yummy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

