Hershey’s Cacao Reserve Dark Chocolate with Nibs

I was checking out Target’s candy clearance again and found these little gems for 24 cents. They are usually a dollar and were well within their expiration date, so it was a nice deal.

When Hershey’s Cacao Reserve line was introduce a couple years ago, I was a little skeptical. It seemed a little weird for Hershey to be dipping into a more “upscale” market. However, I think it’s a good way to introduce the average consumer to dark chocolate and nibs. The Hershey brand name makes it seem more accessible – there are still plenty people out there who aren’t too keen on trying dark chocolate, believe it or not.

This bar is 65% cacao, so it’s still fairly sweet. It’s slightly bitter and woodsy, but mostly just straight chocolate. I think that’s good for the general consumer. There is an ample amount of nibs, which add a good crunch to the bar.

Nutrition Breakdown: Serving size is one 1.3 ounce bar. Each bar contains 190 calories, 14g of fat, 11g of sugar, and 3g of protein. (Note that you can buy this bar in bigger sizes.)

Rating: 8/10 (but a 9 or 10 at the price I got if for)

Name: Cacao Reserve Extra Dark Chocolate with Cacao Nibs
Brand: Hershey’s
Store: Target
Price: $0.24 (reg. $0.99)

5 Responses to Hershey’s Cacao Reserve Dark Chocolate with Nibs

  1. cybele says:

    I’ve never actually bought them myself since my initial review, but I never turn them down as free samples. I agree they’re a nice low key bar for folks to try to see if they actually like nibs before getting into the hard-core stuff.

  2. I struggle with that concept.

    It’s like saying someone should try a Yugo to see if a car is right for them. If you get a Yugo, you might experience a car, but it might not be an experience representative of a car.

    The fact is that Hershey’s Cacao Reserve product is nearly as loaded with refined sugars and wax as any other Hershey’s product and really isn’t a good quality chocolate – it’s still a confection.

    You don’t have to go hardcore to get a great bar of good quality chocolate – for example you could start with an Amedei 65% bar, and the experience is a world better than the Hershey’s product.

    I personally thought I hated dark chocolate until about a year ago. Then someone bought me a box of artisan chocolate truffles from Chatham’s Fine Chocolates – which included alot of dark chocolate pieces. I LOVED them and then eventually got into the dark chocolate bars.

    The reason I had always hated dark chocolate in the past was because it was poor quality dark chocolate I’d had. I never would have become the big fan I am today if I hadn’t tried real quality chocolate.

  3. cybele says:

    Wax? Seriously “Admitted Chocohlic” … you’re saying that Hershey’s puts wax in their chocolate?

    And “refined sugars” … what is Amedei using? White cane sugar is white cane sugar. If you want to pick on Hershey’s for ingredients, start with the fact that they use milk products in their “dark” chocolate.

    But for 24 cents, it’s a darn good indulgence.

  4. Shreeya says:

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

    having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

  5. Jahanavi says:

    Man, I followed that the dark truth link, and was completely in the story. Damn exciting. The latest post talks about a friend of him who’s gone missing . Somewhere on his way to Leh, India. And the guy is asking for help find it. Soundss like an online game . This looks interesting. M already hooked on.

    Hey, btw, nice post you have there – keep rocking – ;)

Leave a Reply

