Choxie Kona Coffee Truffle Bar

Ah, coffee. The word means Starbucks for many, but for me it means a grinder and a French press. I have friends that find this impressive. That’s funny, because trust me, I am far from a coffee connoisseur. I can’t differentiate between different types of coffee, so I can’t tell you if this Kona coffee bar has a true Kona coffee flavor.

I can tell you that it’s very reminiscent of a Starbucks drink. It’s rich and dessert-like – indecently sweet, but very good. The white chocolate center is flecked with ground espresso beans and is surrounded by milk chocolate. It tastes like coffee loaded with yummy creamer – specifically, vanilla and hazelnut creamers.

Most of the Choxie truffle bars have quite good, if a bit sweet. My problem with them is that they’ve lacked promised ingredients: no pretzels in the Peanut Butter Pretzel bar, not enough gingerbread in the Gingerbread bar. This bar doesn’t promise any bits and pieces, so there is no disappointment! That’s good, because I really enjoyed this bar and want to give it a high rating. Note, however, that it may be too sweet for some.

This is first of three bars from the Coffee Lover’s Gift Collection that I picked up around Christmas. The others are Coffee Toffee and Dark Chocolate Espresso, which I’ll review in the coming weeks. I’m pretty sure that all these bars are available individually.

Ingredient Watch: Clear.

Nutrition Breakdown: Serving size is 1/2 a bar. There are 200 calories, 14g of fat, 18g of sugar, and 2g of protein per serving.

Rating: 8/10

Name: Milk Chocolate Kona Coffee Truffle Bar
Brand: Choxie
Store: Target
Price: $1.66 (in a set of 3 for $5.00)

Leave a Reply

