The girl bakes! Ginger Softies

These cookies are great. They taste like gingersnaps but are soft and chewy, so I call them Ginger Softies. The texture is practically melt-in-your-mouth.

This is based on a recipe I found at All Recipes. I added extra flour, changed the white sugar to brown, and tinkered with the spices.

These call for a dusting of sugar. The first time I made them I used white sugar, but the second time I made my own red and green colored sugar after reading this post at Baking Bites. They were nice and festive on the Christmas table!

Ginger Softies

Oven Temp.: 350°
Approx. Bake Time: 14 min. per batch
Yields: 36 cookies

Ingredients

2 1/4 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. clove
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
12 tbsp. butter, softened
1 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 c. molasses
extra sugar for dusting

Instructions
– Sift the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg together. Cream the butter and sugar. Stir in the egg and molasses. Stir in the dry ingredients.
– Roll balls of dough in extra sugar to coat. Place on greased baking sheet. Use a spatula to slightly flatten the cookies.
– After baking, let stand on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then move to wire racks to cool completely.

Note: You may want to refrigerate the dough before working with it, as it’s a little sticky. I think these might make a nice slice-and-bake cookie too, but I haven’t tried it. If you do, let me know.

Leave a Reply

