Ben & Jerry’s Cake Batter

I like cake. I like ice cream. I like cake and ice cream together. In the unholy event that I had to choose between the two, I would pick…

…well, that depends.

I would probably pick ice cream. I like ice cream more than I like cake. The thing is, I’m pickier about ice cream than I am about cake. I’d rather eat substandard cake than substandard ice cream. So maybe I would choose cake to avoid possible disappointment.

What does this hypothetical situation have to do with this post? Well, Ben & Jerry have given us an out — we can choose ice cream and have our cake too with their Cake Batter ice cream. It’s “yellow cake batter ice cream with a chocolate frosting swirl,” and wow, they really nailed this one.

I’ve baked my fair share of cakes, but the flavor I’ve baked most happens to be yellow cake with chocolate icing. While I’ve graduated to cakes-from-scratch, I used to use cake mix, and let me tell you — this ice cream tastes just like Betty Crocker’s Butter Recipe Yellow topped with Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge icing. I’ve used that combination enough times to know.

It’s tasty. It’s rich. It’s creamy. It’s freakishly accurate. Heck, I think it’s great. It’s also a bit different from other cake batter ice creams that I’ve tried. I think it’s the use of chocolate icing rather than vanilla buttercream that sets it apart.

Why don’t you just eat yellow cake with chocolate icing, then? Well, because… because… okay, I’ll give you that one. I really liked this flavor, but I doubt I’ll buy it again. If I’m going to have ice cream, I do prefer a more traditional flavor. Plus, there are too many other flavors to try. Cake Batter, I think, is a flavor more for the kids. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Nutrition Breakdown: Serving size is 1/2 cup. There are 280 calories, 17g of fat (11g saturated), 24g of sugar, and 4g of protein per serving.

Rating: 8/10

Name: Cake Batter
Brand: Ben & Jerry’s
Store: Walmart
Price: about $3.00
Weight: 16 oz.

2 Responses to Ben & Jerry’s Cake Batter

  1. Katie says:

    Cake batter ice cream flavor? Interesting… I know there are a lot of brands who have come out with a birthday cake flavor and recently tried one. I went to Baskin Robbins the other day and I had a cup of their birthday cake ice cream. It was vanilla cake flavored ice cream with strawberry swirls, cake icing (reminded me of the decorating gel more than icing), and pieces of yellow birthday cake. To me, it had too much “icing” mixed in, but it was otherwise delicious. The cake bits weren’t rock hard or mushy!

  2. keithmoore1 says:

    Just tried this a few weeks ago for the first time and I liked it, though the cake taste seemed to disappear after a few bites, like I got used to it or something. I wish they’d taken the next step and put, I don’t know, birthday candles in it or something… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

