Whoopie Pie vs. Oreo Cakester

This is an addendum to yesterday’s Whoopie Pie post.

A while back I posted a recipe for chocolate sandwich cookies, which were basically homemade Oreos. Katie asked if they were like the Oreo Cakesters, which I thought were more like Whoopie Pies at the time. So when I made the Whoopie Pies, I bought a box of the Cakesters for comparison.

They taste nothing alike, and the texture’s not very similar either. The Cakesters taste just like an Oreo, but are softer. They’re still a little chewy though, and not nearly as tender as the Whoopie Pies. They’re somewhere in between the cookies and the pies, I think. (Katie, you were right!)

The Cakesters are a lot smaller than I expected too. The picture above is comparing it to the smallest Whoopie Pies that I made. They come two cakes to a package for a total of 250 calories.

I wasn’t too crazy about them. I ate one cake and gave the rest of the box to my brother. But really, they taste just like Oreos. If you like those, you’ll like these.

Nabisco also sells Oreo Chocolate Creme and ‘Nilla Cakesters.

3 Responses to Whoopie Pie vs. Oreo Cakester

  1. I’ve never had an Oreo Cake thingie… and I could probably pass. But your chocolate Whoopie Pies- now we’re talkin!!! Those look incredible!

  2. Cakespy says:

    I tried the cakesters too and was a bit disappointed. It’s like they have an identity crisis or something. Your whoopie pies (gosh I despise that name) look awesome though!

  3. Katie says:

    I still haven’t tried any of the varieties of Cakesters, but in my opinion, whoopie pies take the cake (ha-ha). I’m so glad that you are posting recipes! I added this to my “to bake” list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

