Frey Tiramisu

Tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts. It’s a classic – ladyfinger cookies soaked in espresso and layered with mascarpone cheese.

I found this bar intriguing. How should Tiramisu be translated into a candy bar? I thought they might highlight the coffee, but Frey chose to make a milk chocolate bar with a mascarpone filling.

How do we create a cheese filling? Well, apparently, we take a lot of fat, add some mascarpone powder, and (BAM!) we’ve got mascarpone filling. From what I can work out from the ingredients list, the filling is made with a palm kernel oil, cocoa butter, mascarpone filling, and a couple other things. Palm kernel oil isn’t a trans fat, by the way, but it is high in saturated fat. It’s usually used in smaller amounts in truffle bars. It gives the bar a melt-in-you-mouth texture.

I now realize that I might have scared you off or grossed you out. Come on, candy is about decadence, and sometimes that includes fat. Most candy has similar amounts of fat anyway. Just don’t eat the whole bar at once.

The filling has a tangy dairy flavor and notes of almond, which I really enjoyed. It goes well with the chocolate and the whole thing melts like a dream.

So we have a mascarpone filling… but that’s where the similarity to Tiramisu ends. I’m surprised. It seems easy to add some ground espresso beans to the filling to cover the coffee angle. I would also add some crunchy cookie bits to represent the lady fingers. But Frey did none of this; they stopped at the filling. I think it at least needs coffee to be considered Tiramisu.

So while I liked this, I don’t think it’s a good representation of Tiramisu. It reminds me more of yogurt – maybe a milder Ritter Yogurt. Also note that it’s pretty sweet, so the sensitive should beware.

Nutrition Breakdown: Serving size is 4 squares; there are 2.5 servings per bar. Each serving contains 250 calories, 18g of fat, 17g of sugar, and 2g of protein.

Rating: 6/10

Name: Tiramisu
Brand: Frey
Store: Target
Price: $1.66

3 Responses to Frey Tiramisu

  1. Cakespy says:

    What an interesting idea for a candy bar! It sounds intriguing, I am going to keep an eye out for this one. I like the idea of adding a crunchy ladyfinger aspect!

  2. Alicia says:

    Cakespy – Yeah, I really like the idea of dessert candy bars. It’s fun! I just wish this had a little espresso and crunch.

  3. nick says:

    tastes great but not carried by Target anymore, looking for a new retail outlet that carries it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

