The girl bakes! Peanut Butter Cookies, Small Batch

I haven’t posted many recipes lately, but it’s not for lack of baking. In fact, I’ve been baking more than usual. This is because I’ve started baking almost exclusively in small batches. The goods get consumed faster, and I can move on to the next project.

However, I can’t always just halve or third a recipe. The math doesn’t mesh with my measuring cups. I’ve had to get a little creative, adjusting to my own tastes. The results aren’t always tasty, but sometimes I get it right. This is one of those times.

This is based off a peanut butter cookie recipe that my grandma gave me years ago. I’ve adjusted it many times since, but this is the first time I’ve reduced it. The regular recipe makes 48 delicious chewy cookies; however, my adjustments yield 18 sandy cookie with their own merits. They are reminiscent of store-bought cookies.

They aren’t perfect, but darn close. A couple more trials should get it there.

Chipped Peanut Butter Cookies

Oven Temp.: 350°
Approx. Bake Time: 12 min. per batch
Yields: 18 two-inch cookies

Ingredients
1/2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt
2 1/2 tbsp. butter, softened
1/3 c. peanut butter
1/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 tbsp. beaten egg
1 tsp. milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. chocolate chips (optional)
1/4 c. peanut butter chips (optional)

Instructions
– Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together. In a separate bowl, cream the butter, peanut butter, sugar, and brown sugar, then add the egg, milk, and vanilla. Stir in the dry ingredients and chips.
– Scoop tablespoons of dough onto an ungreased baking sheet. For crunchier cookies, flatten with a spatula or fork. For softer cookies, leave the dough as balls/lumps.
– After baking, let stand on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then move to wire racks to cool completely.

Note: They are supposed to have both peanut butter and chocolate chips. I didn’t have any peanut butter chips, so I used all chocolate. It was too much. Stick with 1/4 cup, like the recipe says, even if you don’t have peanut butter chips. That’s what I get for making substitutions to my own untested recipe. However, I do think you could use all peanut butter chips.

5 Responses to The girl bakes! Peanut Butter Cookies, Small Batch

  1. janelle says:

    These are so very close to the cookies I baked for my then-boyfriend. Now my husband, he claims these are the reason he proposed. :) 12 years later, they’re still a fave. All that aside, I love your blog! Just found it tonight and have really enjoyed your posts. I can’t wait to try your recipes. Thanks for the sugar and the fun.

  2. Alicia says:

    Janelle – Thanks for your comment! I hope this recipe yields such results for me someday too. :D

  3. Monica says:

    Just made a batch of these & they’re fabulous! Although it defeats the purpose of why I first stumbled upon this post (looking for a small batch of something), I wondered something…if I were to double this, could I do one whole egg, do you think? Thanks for your great posts!

  4. Brenda says:

    Hi Alicia! I found your website by googling a small batch of cookies. I just made these and they’re the best cookies I’ve ever made! I’m still a novice baker and these were easy to make and made my house smell great too! Thank you so much!

  5. sacredfig says:

    Hi Alicia,
    I baked a batch of these cookies this evening,and the texture and taste is absolutely fabulous! I made some changes though – I used a whole egg since it was only 1 tsp more than 2 tbsp when beaten, and eliminated the teaspoon of milk. I also added chopped cashew-nuts in place of the chocolate/peanut butter chips. I had to adjust the baking time to 15 minutes for my oven. The cookies were soft to touch when they first came out of the oven but hardened as they cooled, and set up quite nicely…they are delightfully crumbly as you bite into them, not chewy, but not hard or tough in any way. Again, thanks for the recipe…this one is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

